Scam Alert From the Better Business Bureau

Sunday, July 10, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau serving Eastern North Carolina warns Instagram users to avoid the “Ugly List” scam. In this scam, people are getting fooled into thinking a friend tagged them in a mean-spirited prank, but it turns out to be a phishing con. 

 

How the Scam Works: 

You receive an Instagram notification saying you've been tagged in a post. The post is called "Ugly List 2016," and it was a friend who tagged you. 

In the notification, there's a link to see the full post. You click on it, and it leads to a page that appears to be the Instagram log in. You need to enter your username and password before you can see the "Ugly List." The form turns out to be phony and by logging in you have given the scammer your username and password. Once scammers have your account information, they will hack your Instagram and tag your followers in new "Ugly List" posts, perpetuating the con and stealing more information.

Tips to avoid this con: 

  • Do a quick search. Be wary of anything that is shocking or sensational on social media. If it seems suspicious, do an online search. If it's a scam, chances are that other victims have posted complaints and information online.

  • Don't trust your friends' tastes online. It might not actually be them "liking" or sharing these scam posts. Their account may have been hacked. 

  • Hover over a link to see its true destination. Before you click, mouse over the link to see where it will take you. Don't click on links leading to unfamiliar websites.

  • Report an Instagram scam. Check out Instagram's resources for reporting scams. If your account has been hacked, see Instagram's advice on securing your account and/or reporting the violation. 

 

For more information on scams visit bbb.org and to report a scam, go to BBB Scam Tracker (bbb.org/scamtracker). 

Please reload

Other Posts

Tie Dye By Eli

August 31, 2020

1/10
Please reload

Search By Tags

©2014 Media Publishing, LLC