WCPS Announces Teachers of the Year

Wednesday, July 1, 2015


Goldsboro, N.C. – With the school year officially ending this week for teachers and support staff, Wayne County Public Schools is excited to announce the 2015-2016 Teachers of the Year who will represent their schools in the coming school year. The 33 teachers selected will now prepare to compete for the district-wide honor of WCPS Teacher of the Year.


Teacher of the Year


Brogden Middle

Shakina Oates

7th Grade Math


Brogden Primary

Norma Acero

2nd-4th Grade ESL


Carver Elementary

Jennifer Heatley

1st/2nd Grade


Carver Heights Elementary

Vonder Ashford

2nd Grade Teacher


Charles B. Aycock High

Steven Thorne

9-12 Technology Education


Dillard Middle

Gene Willoughby

8th Grade English/Language Arts


Eastern Wayne Elementary

Tony Parrish

K-5 Physical Education

Eastern Wayne High


Bobby Sherard

9-12 Band

Eastern Wayne Middle

Thomasa Mathis


8th Grade Math

Edgewood Community Developmental School

Deborah Gill

EC Kindergarten


Fremont STARS Elementary

Shalaunda Smith

Pre -Kindergarten


Goldsboro High

Thomas Garrou



Grantham Elementary

Jenny Sasser

3rd Grade


Grantham Middle

Angela Joyner

5th Grade


Greenwood Middle

Jennifer Kirkland

5-8 Band


Meadow Lane Elementary

Donna Drew

1st Grade


Mount Olive Middle

Catherine Joyner

6-8 EC Self Contained


North Drive Elementary

Catherine Borgquist

2nd Grade


Northeast Elementary

Holly Medlin

4th Grade


Northwest Elementary

Mindy Lane



Norwayne Middle

Andrew Bass

7th Grade Math


Rosewood Elementary

Lisa Herring



Rosewood High

Connie Sutton

9-12 EC


Rosewood Middle

Lorrie Kester

8th Grade Math


School Street Elementary

Mal Jones



Southern Wayne High

Jason Cox

9-12 Music


Spring Creek Elementary

Scott Ervin

3rd Grade


Spring Creek High

Taylor Jones

9-12 Math


Spring Creek Middle

Julie Slye

8th Grade Science


Tommy’s Road Elementary

Anna Bridgers

1st Grade


Wayne Early/Middle College High

Carol Watson

9th & 10th Grade English


Wayne Middle/High Academy

Anita Phillips

9-12 EC


Wayne School of Engineering

Catherine Sutton

7th Grade Math



“These thirty-three teachers represent the best of the teaching profession. We congratulate each of them for this achievement and wish them the very best in the next round of the Teacher of the Year competition,” states Dr. Sandra McCullen, WCPS Interim Superintendent.


For the next round of the district’s Teacher of the Year competition, the 33 candidates will complete portfolios that will be submitted to the WCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee. The committee will then review portfolios and conduct interviews of all the candidates in August. Following the interviews, the field will be narrowed to three finalists — one each from the elementary, middle, and high school level.


The WCPS Teacher of the Year will be selected from the three finalists and announced at the annual WCPS Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held on August 18 at Lane Tree Golf Club and Conference Center.


For more information, contact Ken Derksen at 919-705-6125

Please reload

Other Posts

What's in a Word?

July 30, 2020

Please reload

Search By Tags

©2014 Media Publishing, LLC