top of page

WCPS Announces Teachers of the Year

Goldsboro, N.C. –With the school year coming to a close, Wayne County Public Schools is excited to announce the 2014-2015 Teachers of the Year who will represent their schools in the coming school year. The 31 teachers selected will now prepare to compete for the district-wide honor of WCPS Teacher of the Year. “These teachers demonstrate the highest qualities, standards and commitment to the education of our students,” states Dr. Steven Taylor, WCPS Superintendent. “We congratulate all of the school-level Teachers of the Year and wish them the very best in the next round of the competition.”

The 2014-2015 Teachers of the Year for each school are:


Teacher of the Year

Teaching Assignment

Brogden Middle

Jorge Ospino

Grades 5-8 ESL

Brogden Primary

Amanda Skelton


Carver Elementary

David Powell

Grade 4 Science/Social Studies

Carver Heights Elementary

Felicia Best

Grade 2

Charles B. Aycock High

Mary Rose Yoo

Grades 9-12 Physics Honors/Physical Science

Dillard Middle

Revelene Hutchins

Grade 6 Social Studies

Eastern Wayne Elementary

Stacy Herring

Grade 5 Math/Science

Eastern Wayne High

Carolyn Wegman

Home Economics

Eastern Wayne Middle

Jennifer Fricks

Grades 6 & 8 EC Inclusion/Resource

Edgewood Community Developmental School

Belinda Jones

Grades 1 & 2 EC Self-Contained

Fremont STARS Elementary

Emily Martin

Grades K-5 ESL

Goldsboro High

Mahipal Deswal

Grades 9-12 Math

Grantham School

Jamie Cox

Grades K-4 Music & 7-8 Chorus

Greenwood Middle

Anita Martin

Grade 5 Language Arts/ Social Studies

Meadow Lane Elementary

Amy Crawford

Grade 1

Mount Olive Middle

Matthew Soper

Grade 5 Math

North Drive Elementary

Tonya Langston

Grades 3 & 4 EC

Northeast Elementary

Courtney Danielle Rothwell

Grade 4

Northwest Elementary

Donna Lewis

Grade 4

Norwayne Middle

Ashley Horne

Grade 8 Math

Rosewood Elementary

Merle Elam

Grades K-5 Art

Rosewood High

Allison Jennings

Grades 9-12 Agriculture Education

Rosewood Middle

Melissa Riser

Grades 6-12 Music/Band

School Street Elementary

Veronica Lopez


Southern Wayne High

Holly Jo King

Grades 9-12 English

Spring Creek Elementary

Melisha Carson


Spring Creek High

Melissa Lewis

Grades 9-12 Allied Health

Tommy’s Road Elementary

Kimberly Langston


Wayne Early/Middle College High

Maurice Nicholson

Grades 10 & 12 English Honors

Wayne Academy

Trae McKee

Grades 6-12 Physical Education

Wayne School of Engineering

Allyson Daly

Grades 7 & 10 English

For the next round of the district’s Teacher of the Year competition, the 31 candidates will complete portfolios that will be submitted to the WCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee. The committee will then review portfolios and conduct interviews of all the candidates in August. Following the interviews, the field will be narrowed to three finalists — one each from the elementary, middle, and high school level.

The WCPS Teacher of the Year will be selected from the finalists and announced in August at the annual WCPS Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held on August 19 at Goldsboro Country Club.

(For more information, contact Ken Derksen at 919-705-6125)

Downtown Pharmacy.JPG
Stovall Dental 5x4.jpg

Click on Ad for more Info

bottom of page